Cured Pig’s Cheek

This is the best bacon in the world. OK, it’s probably the best bacon in the world. It’s certainly the best bacon I’ve ever made. Look at the fat on it. Not to everyone’s hypersensitive taste, perhaps, but such fat, white as hoar frost, pure and delicate. And the pale tracery of meat running through it. Crisp, crunchy, the definitive fragrant shaving of bacon.  Technically, it’s cured cheek rather than belly, but there’s a school of thought that believes that the cheek is the best bit of the pig anyway. The ratio of fat to muscle may be unacceptable by contemporary standards, but the meat is all the more sweetly flavoured for it.

The Italians would call this guanciale, and that was how I first came across it, eating with Giancarlo and Ilde in Piangepane in Emilia-Romagna a few years back. Giancarlo’s recipe was agreeably simple. “I get fresh pig’s cheeks and bury them in a tray of salt for eight days. You must tip the tray at a slight angle so that the water runs away from the meat. After eight days I add fresh salt and leave it for another five days or so. Then I wash off the salt, take off the skin, slice the cheeks like this’ – he indicated about two centimetres – ‘and freeze them until I want them.’

The first time I tried making guanciale out along Giancarlo’s lines, the results put me in mind of Lot’s wife, who, if you remember, was turned into a pillar of salt. It was mouth-puckeringly salty, and I like salt. A process of trial and error, basically reducing the salting time and improving my desalination techniques, plus the odd tweak here and there, has resulted in the best bacon in the world. Probably.

It makes sense to do 2 or 3 pig’s cheeks at a time. The cheeks freeze very well once cured. You can vary the spice mix according to your own fancy. Below is how I fancy it today. Tomorrow, who knows?

3 pigs cheeks, skin on

1 kg cooking salt

t tsp all spice

1 dsp black pepper

1 star anise star

1 dsp juniper berries

Butter muslin

Tidy up the cheeks with a sharp knife, and get rid of any white/pinky/grey nubby bits, which will be glands. Wash the cheeks and dry. Spread a good layer of salt in a glass dish or on a metal tray. Put the pig’s cheeks on it and cover with the rest of the salt. Put away somewhere cool for 7 days, tipping the dish/tray at a slight angle. After 7 days wash off the salt, and then leave the cheeks in a bowl of cold water over night. It won’t harm the guanciale to change the water a few times, if you remember, but don’t worry if you don’t. Take out of the water, and dry very thoroughly. Grind or crush the spices. Cut out 3 rectangles of butter  muslin, substantially larger than the cheeks. Lay one at a time out on a table. Sprinkle 1/3 of the crushed/ground spices on the first rectangle. Place the cheek on top, and wrap the muslin around it. Twist the top and bottom and tie with string. Make sure the muslin is kept in place, using another piece of string if need be. Hang up in a cool place for 14 – 21 days. The cheek should feel dry and quite dense but not hard. Now it’s ready to eat. You can eat it as it is, freeze withoug slicing it until you need it as some future date, or freeze it sliced to whatever thickness you fancy.

About Matt

Food writer, television presenter and big eater.
This entry was posted in Eating In. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cured Pig’s Cheek

  1. OK Matt…this feels a bit challengy. Only because I did my own maple bourbon bacon cure a couple of weeks ago and I thought IT the best bacon ever. Using the now lowly pork belly I might add that took me FOREVER to find. So, the biggest part of this challenge? Pork Cheeks?

    The local grocery has signs posted to keep me out because I asked them for pork belly and they thought me an insane person, so where oh where am I going to now find pig cheeks?

    Yes, maybe a bit tongue in cheek. Pig’s cheek.

  2. megp says:

    OK , I know this is an old post, so hope you are looking!
    I bought a pig’s head last week at a farmer’s market (two quid, bargain!). I have the cheeks in the freezer and have been thinking what to do with them. I have two questions that I hope you may be able to answer:
    Can I still go ahead with the curing if the meet has been frozen?
    When you say hang in a cool place, I’m just wondering about where in my three bedroom semi would be good – what is a typical environment?
    Thank you. Meg

    • Matt says:

      Yes, you can use frozen cheeks. Mine are. And hang them anywhere the wind blows through or has a draft. I hang mine in my garage. If you don’t have any place liek that, just keep it in the fridge. I like hanging them because the cheeks look more decorative that way, and advertise my household thrift.

  3. megp says:

    Thank you so much. I like also the idea of hanging them up and have found somewhere to try it that has a little breeze!

Leave a Reply

