Q. I am trying to find a recipe for ice cream wafers. Surprisingly I can find none on the internet.

A. As it happens, I was looking for ice cream cones in which to serve some mulberry ice cream at my local Waitrose the other weekend, and next to Askey’s Cones were Askey’s Wafers. There are 48 of them in a box for 51p, which works out at 1.1p per wafer. What price joy? I’m sure other supermarkets have them as well. I know Sainsbury’s do, and they’re only 48p per box there. If you want to explore the wonderful world of ice cream wafers and cones, you could do worse than look at http://www.waferltd.co.uk.

3 thoughts on “Q. I am trying to find a recipe for ice cream wafers. Surprisingly I can find none on the internet.

  1. thanks for your responses, i had seen the historic food one . Do i gather that i would need to have a clamp/wafflemaker /iron of some description to make the flat wafers in ?

    i had hoped i could find a recipe which allowed me to make ( albeit perhaps a bit misshaped ) wafers in a low heat oven , somewhat like making biscuits , on an open baking tray

Leave a Reply

