Clarifying stock

When you want to clarify stock, there’s no need to go through all that palaver with egg whites, minced beef and herbs stirring and skimming, skimming and stirring.Just freeze your stock. When you need it, take it out of the freezer the night before and place it in one of those coffee filters lined with a filter paper, and place that over a jug. Let it melt over night. As it melts, it drips through the paper, removing all impurities, leaving you with a brilliant, clear stock. Simple, clever. It’s a tip I got from Heston Blumthenthal, and it works. Of course, you may know this already, but just in case you don’t –

About Matt

Food writer, television presenter and big eater.
This entry was posted in Eating In. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Clarifying stock

  1. Kavey says:

    As most of the stock we make gets frozen, this tip is ace. Ta. x

  2. Snigdha says:

    Hello Matthew,
    This is great! I always thought you had to put in all that time and effort. It particularly put me off even attempting beef stock. Many thanks. This puts a whole new perspective on what I am prepared to make at home. Any tips on fish? I really don’t have time or space to save zillions of fish heads and carcasses!
    Many thanks!
    Snigdha

  3. Matthew, I’m so looking forward to trying this. But it might be a while. I have access to some pretty good shopbought organic low-sodium stock now. Wish I’d had this tip back when I always made my own.

Leave a Reply

